The 8mm Karabiner Experiment

Well, it happens to the best of us. Every once in a while we run into a mold we cannot pass up. For me it was the 8mm Karabiner. I bought one on e-bay, great price, and cast up 100 rounds. Gas checked and sized i squashed the first three cases I attempted to load. Then, after a successful load was made I attempted to chamber a round. The 8mm Karabiner is fat and heavy 234-236 grains from my mold. That first round would not chamber, so set it back and tried again, and again, and again. Each time the 8mm Karabiner would not chamber. It is so fat that in my Yugoslavian 8mm Mauser the lands engage the bullet only after it is protruding from the case .450! This makes the OAL 2.67…

So what to do? Start checking the gunboards, reloading boards, etc. Seems some guys have gone to great lengths to make these rounds work in their Yugo 48 Mausers. Some have even used their chamfering tool to shave the nose down.

Now I am not afraid to have a round protruding into the case, which this one must do, a total of .660! But that is quite a bit, even for me. Anyway, does someone need a Karabiner Mold that is lightly used?

Leave a Reply

